Brooklyn Botanical Eye Candy

I recently made a trip to the Brooklyn Botanical with the objective of viewing and photographing the tree peonies in full bloom. My timing was off. Seems either I was too early or the tree peonies are late. But no matter. In addition to the cherry blossoms the lilacs are in their glory right now. As are the magnolias and the crab apples. I am partial to the latter for sentimental reasons. When my sibling and I were kids our grandmother had a tree in the back yard. She made jelly with the fruits. So when I see a crab apple tree in full bloom I think of her.

Our grandmother's tree had pink blossoms but burgundy leaves.
Our grandmother’s tree had pink blossoms but burgundy leaves.
The scent from the lilacs was quite heady
The scent from the lilacs was quite heady
Love the "black" color of these hyacinths
Love the “black” color of these hyacinths
I like the orange color of this dwarf tulip..very invigorating
I like the orange color of this dwarf tulip..very invigorating
Hard to capture the color of these magnolias. They have a hint of  buttery  yellow.
Hard to capture the color of these magnolias. They have a hint of buttery yellow.

One thought on “Brooklyn Botanical Eye Candy

Leave a Reply

