June Garden

During our recent frigid blast of winter I was thinking fondly of hours  spent watching birds on a friend’s property last summer. Bluebirds,cardinals, flocks of cedar waxwings,hummingbirds,finch and blue jay were among the creatures providing a show. Those birds stubbornly refused to pose long enough for me to take pictures. So I was obliged to content myself with photos of the surrounding property. But this was no hardship as the area is quite lovely;providing me with plenty of material for future work. This bird house image has been useful as you will see  below.

Hamden Birdhouse Photo
Hamden Birdhouse

I kept my eyes open hoping to catch a glimpse of a scarlet tanager. I have been fascinated by this bird for years;seeing photos and illustrations in various field guides and encyclopedias. Though they are reputed to spend some time in the northeast;I have yet to see a live specimen with my own eyes.

scarlet tanager painting©2016
Scarlet Tanager

So I have used artistic license ….incorporating this fellow into my fantasy of a back yard in June.

Feels Like June LR
Feels Like JuneFine Art Licensing.Com

One thought on “June Garden

  1. I like this– it’s so swirly!

    From: splendorous realms To: tomcumella@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, February 25, 2016 10:48 AM Subject: [New post] June Garden #yiv6960537076 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6960537076 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6960537076 a.yiv6960537076primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6960537076 a.yiv6960537076primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6960537076 a.yiv6960537076primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6960537076 a.yiv6960537076primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6960537076 WordPress.com | Bill Jackson posted: “During our recent frigid blast of winter I was thinking fondly of hours  spent watching birds on a friend’s property last summer. Bluebirds,cardinals, flocks of cedar waxwings,hummingbirds,finch and blue jay were among the creatures providing a show. Thos” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

